industry news

The Latest Industry News for the Exciting World of Production.

Creative Handbook puts together a bi-monthly newsletter featuring up-to-date information on events, news and industry changes.

Carol Burnett to Present Jerry Lewis with ICG Publicists' Lifetime Achievement Award

By: International Cinematographers Guild | January 15, 2014

Carol Burnett to Present Jerry Lewis with ICG Publicists\' Lifetime Achievement Award

Jerry Lewis, actor, writer, producer, director, humanitarian and all-around funny man, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award at the ICG Publicists Awards Luncheon to be held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel, Beverly Hills on February 28, 2014. Equally funny woman and longtime pal, Carol Burnett, will make the presentation.

Steven Poster, ASC, president of the ICG said, "Lewis is a national treasure who has provided generations worldwide with decades of laughs. Jerry is also one of the main reasons I wanted to get into show business when I was a child."

"Jerry Lewis has achieved what few other performers have - success in movies, television and live performances," said Awards Committee chairman Henri Bollinger. "This is due in large measure to his enormous talent, of course, but also because of his uncanny appreciation and knowledge of the importance of publicity in attracting audiences."

In a recent Newsweek Magazine poll that listed the "10 Most Recognizable Faces in the World," Jerry Lewis came in fourth, tied with the Pope. His contributions to the entertainment industry are legendary. His films have entertained billions around the globe, and they continue to attract and enchant new audiences and fans.

At the age of 86, Lewis stepped back in front of the cameras as the star of the upcoming feature Max Rose. Written and directed by Daniel Noah, Max Rose premiered in the official lineup of the 2013 Cannes Film Festival. It co-stars Kerry Bishé, Kevin Pollak, Claire Bloom, Dean Stockwell, Fred Willard and Mort Sahl.

In his more than six decades as the chairman of the MDA and host of their annual telethon, Lewis raised more than 2.6 billion dollars for the charitable organization. He has been nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize, has been presented with the French Legion of Honor, and received the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the 2009 Academy Awards®.

Past recipients of this award include last year's honoree Kirk Douglas as well as Carol Burnett, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Zemeckis, Harrison Ford, Julie Andrew, Clint Eastwood, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Warren Beatty.

Other awards to be presented are the Television Showmanship Award; the Press Award; the International Media Award; the Maxwell Weinberg Awards, which recognize outstanding accomplishment in the field of publicity; the Les Mason Award, given to a publicist for lifetime achievement; and the Bob Yeager Award, which recognizes significant community service.

No Comments