industry news

The Latest Industry News for the Exciting World of Production.

Creative Handbook puts together a bi-monthly newsletter featuring up-to-date information on events, news and industry changes.

Creator/Writer/Producer Shonda Rhimes to Receive International Cinematographers Guild's Publicists TV Showmanship Award

By: International Cinemtographers Guild | January 7, 2014

Creator/Writer/Producer Shonda Rhimes to Receive International Cinematographers Guild\'s Publicists TV Showmanship Award

Shonda Rhimes, creator, writer and producer of the hit TV series Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice and Scandal, will be presented with the 2014 Television Showmanship Award at the International Cinematographers Guild's (IATSE Local 600) 51st annual Publicists Awards Luncheon on Friday, February 28, at The Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

"Shonda Rhimes is quickly becoming one of most honored and recognized creators and producers in television history," said Henri Bollinger, Awards Committee Chairman. "Her multi-faceted career and the success she has already achieved defines the very essence of showmanship."

ICG President Steven Poster ASC added, "Shonda has carved a unique position for herself in the entertainment industry with her creativity and tremendous output of great work. As a fan and as president I'm delighted that she has been selected to receive this award."

Industry News Image

Her many honors include the Producers Guild of America 2007 Producer of the Year Award; the 2007 Golden Globe for Outstanding Television Drama; the 2007 Lucy Award for Excellence in Television from Women in Film; the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Writing in a Dramatic Series in consecutive years 2007 - 2011, as well as five wins for Outstanding Drama Series during those same years; the 2006 Writers Guild Award for Best New Series; in addition to Emmy nominations for Outstanding Drama Series and Writing for a Drama Series.

The Directors Guild of America will honor Shonda Rhimes and Betsy Beers of Shondaland with the Guild's 2014 Diversity Award at the 66th Annual DGA Awards in January.

Rhimes was the 2013 winner of the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Drama Series with Scandal, also receiving a nomination for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series. Rhimes was the recipient of the 2012 GLAAD Golden Gate Award; 2010 RAINN Hope Award; and a 2009 GLSEN Respect Awards Honoree.

Additionally she received the Television Academy Honors award in 2010 and 2011 for Private Practice as well as the Prism Award for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series in 2011. Rhimes has twice been included in Time Magazine's list of the 100 most influential people along with Fortune Magazine's "50 Most Powerful Women in Business," Variety's "Power of Women" and Glamour Magazine's "Women of the Year." In 2013, she was appointed by President Obama to serve as Trustee for the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts."

Aside from her success with network television, Rhimes wrote the feature film Princess Diaries 2: A Royal Engagement, released in August 2004 by Disney. Additionally, her original script, Crossroads, was released in 2002 by Paramount. She co-wrote Introducing Dorothy Dandridge, produced by HBO, which was nominated for numerous awards, and for which Halle Berry won a Golden Globe and an Emmy for Best Actress in a miniseries.

Past honorees of the Television Showman of the Year Award include Steven Bochco, Jerry Bruckheimer, Marcy Carsey, Chris Carter, Chris McCumber, Ted Harbert, Bob Hope, David E. Kelley, Norman Lear, Caryn Mandabach, Garry Marshall, Les Moonves, Peter Roth, Fred Silverman, Aaron Spelling, Nina Tassler, Grant Tinker, Jeff Wachtel and Tom Werner.

More than 800 industry leaders are expected to attend the awards luncheon.

Other awards to be presented include the Motion Picture Showmanship Award, which this year will go to Lionsgate Motion Picture Group Co-Chairmen Rob Friedman and Patrick Wachsberger; the Lifetime Achievement Award; the President's Award; the Les Mason Award, the highest honor given to a publicist; the Bob Yeager Award, which goes to a publicist in recognition of outstanding community service; and the Maxwell Weinberg Showmanship Awards for outstanding publicity campaigns of 2008 in films and television.

About the International Cinematographers Guild:
The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) represents more than 7,000 members who work in film, television and commercials as Directors of Photography, Camera Operators, Visual Effects Supervisors, Still Photographers, Camera Assistants, Film Loaders, all members of camera crews and Publicists. The first cinematographers union was established in New York in 1926, followed by unions in Los Angeles and Chicago, but it wasn't until 1996 that Local 600 was born as a national guild. ICG's ongoing activities include the Emerging Cinematographer Awards and the Publicists Awards Luncheon. The Guild also publishes the award-winning ICG Magazine.

No Comments