industry news

The Latest Industry News for the Exciting World of Production.

Creative Handbook puts together a bi-monthly newsletter featuring up-to-date information on events, news and industry changes.

NATPE'S 10th Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award

By: NATPE | October 8, 2012

NATPE\'S 10th Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award

Recipients to be honored at the NATPE 2013 Market & Conference January 29 in Miami. Herbert Kloiber, Chairman of Tele München Gruppe, has been named the fourth honoree receiving NATPE-Content First's 10th annual Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award during the NATPE 2013 Market & Conference in Miami. Kloiber, the head of one of the world's largest television groups, joins a distinguished group of recipients comprising legendary reality television producer John Langley, BET Networks Chairman and CEO Debra Lee and "Modern Family" creator and executive producer Steven Levitan. The award reception, to be held on Tuesday, January 29, is sponsored by RBC, Broadcasting & Cable / Multichannel News and NBCUniversal. The announcement was made today by NATPE President & CEO Rod Perth.

Named in honor of Brandon Tartikoff, arguably one of television's greatest programmers, the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award was created to recognize a select group of television professionals who exhibit extraordinary passion, leadership, independence and vision in the process of creating television programming.

"We are pleased that we are honoring Herbert in 2013 with this well-deserved award," said Perth. "He has built an extraordinary company whose longevity in the entertainment business is incredible. Coupled with John's creative vision that catalyzed an entire genre of unscripted programming, Debra's passionate advocacy on behalf of the cable business, and Steven's keen eye and deft touch with family comedy, this group represents what Brandon championed in television."

"For 10 years NATPE has continued to keep alive Brandon's love for TV with this award," said Lilly Tartikoff. "Herbert, Steven, John and Debra embody the spirit and joy for the business that were his hallmark."

The cocktail reception celebrating the recipients will take place on Tuesday, January 29 during NATPE 2013 at the Fontainebleau Resort. Event tickets are available for $150, benefiting the NATPE Educational Foundation, and can be purchased online here.

As Chairman of Tele München Gruppe (TMG), Herbert Kloiber has guided the company's growth from a production division into a fully integrated media corporation over the past 40 years. TMG controls the rights to one of the largest television and film libraries in Europe, and distributes the feature films, TV productions and classical music programs it produces and acquires via its own theatrical, broadcasting and merchandising channels.

In addition, Kloiber is Chairman of the Board of CineMedia Film AG and a Member of the Board of Odeon Film AG, and since 2007 he has served as an Honorary Professor and head of the Department of Production and Media Economics at the Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich. His awards include the Chevalier des Arts et Lettres, the Bavarian Order of Merit, the Directorate Award from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Grand Decoration of Honour for Services to the Republic of Austria.

John Langley is a director, writer and producer of TV and film, best known as the creator and executive producer of FOX's "COPS." Now in its record-breaking 25th season with more than 900 episodes aired, "COPS" established Langley as an entertainment visionary and paved the way for scores of successful non-fiction series including those he and his son Morgan also produce: "Undercover Stings" and "Jail" (Spike TV); "Vegas Strip" and "Las Vegas Jailhouse" (truTV); "Street Patrol" (G4) and "Road Warriors 3-D" (Epix TV).

Langley, whose accolades include the American Television Award, four Emmy® nominations and the Cine Golden Eagle Award, expanded his production company in 1995 to create and produce independent theatrical motion pictures. Since then, he has produced and directed various films including Brooklyn's Finest (starring Richard Gere, Don Cheadle, Ethan Hawke and Ellen Barkin); Leaves of Grass (starring Edward Norton and Susan Sarandon); Dogwatch (starring Sam Elliott, Esai Morales and Paul Sorvino); and Tiptoes (starring Matthew McConaughey, Kate Beckinsale, Gary Oldman and Patricia Arquette), among others.

Debra Lee is Chairman and CEO of BET Networks, a unit of Viacom Inc. and the leading provider of entertainment for the African-American audience and global consumers of Black culture. The multiplatform media company Lee oversees includes several cable television networks, digital offerings, and a home entertainment business. Under her leadership, BET created hit programming including "Let's Stay Together," "The Game on BET," "Black Girls Rock!" "The Mo'Nique Show," "BET Honors," "Sunday Best" and many more.

As President and COO of BET Networks for nearly 10 years, Lee guided the company to consistent increases in viewership, revenue and earnings. She has been named one of The Hollywood Reporter's 100 Most Powerful Women in Entertainment, inducted into the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame and the Washington Business Hall of Fame, and was honored with the Distinguished Leadership Vanguard Award by the National Cable & Telecommunications Association.

Steven Levitan is the creator and executive producer of ABC's hit comedy series "Modern Family," the winner of 16 Primetime Emmy Awards and one of the most celebrated shows currently on TV. Since its 2009 debut, "Modern Family" has garnered acclaim including a Golden Globe® Award for Best Television Series - Comedy or Musical; two Screen Actors Guild Awards; and three AFI TV Awards, among many others.

A veteran television writer, Levitan has been making television comedies for more than 20 years, creating the NBC hit comedy series "Just Shoot Me" and writing and producing shows including "Wings," "Frasier," "The Larry Sanders Show" and "Greg the Bunny." Levitan's honors include seven Primetime Emmy Awards, five Writers Guild Awards, two Humanitas Prizes, a Peabody Award, three Producers Guild Awards, a Comedy Writer of the Year Award, two Television Critics Awards and a DGA nomination.

NATPE-Content First is a global, nonprofit organization committed to serving as a catalyst for the content revolution. Evolving to meet the needs of a changing media landscape, NATPE, through its many activities including exclusive videos, live streaming events and vibrant annual markets, is at the nexus of the multiplatform content world. NATPE'Miami, January 28-30, 2013, and NATPE-Budapest, June 25-27, 2013, are where creativity meets connectivity and commerce. NATPE-Miami takes place with the support of the Miami Beach Visitor and Convention Authority. For more information, please visit


Press Contacts:

Lisa Porter/Cassy Salyer
The Lippin Group/LA

Debbie Lawrence
The Lippin Group/London
+44 203 008 5406

No Comments